Revisiting the contribution of auditory cortex to frequency-following responses. Running has taught me that your body can achieve whatever your mind wants it to and I think thats true for all of the distances. E Holmes, Y Domingo, IS Johnsrude. However, we found thateven if someone doesnt have hearing worse than the cut-offpeople who are closer to the cut-off are more likely to experience difficulty hearing in noisy places. The results showed that complete damage to the premorbid system engaged the alternative system, which led to an initial drop in performance, but this recovered relatively quickly. My running coach, who took me from a complete beginner up to marathons, didnt want to do all the long-distance stuff because shes not training for a marathon herself, so she approached my friend Emily and me to see if we would consider being running coaches. 137 posts. You can read the full paper here: Friston, K. J., Parr, T., Yufik, Y., Sajid, N., Price, C. J., & Holmes, E. (2020). We found that being familiar with a voice provides a speech intelligibility benefit as large as spatially separating maskers by +/-15 degrees. We show that mismatch responses (e.g., MMN) emerge from this framework. Holmes, E., Kinghorn, E., McGarry, L., Busari, E., Griffiths, T. D., & Johnsrude, I. S. (2022). Association for Research in Otolaryngology (ARO), Brain and Mind Institute Postdoctoral Collaborative Research Grants, summary of my 2016 Hearing Research paper, Frequency Following Response (FFR) workshop. } catch(e) {}. Ive been fortunate enough to see the funding process through from start to finish and gain insight into the entire process. Im 39 now and I feel that Im the fittest Ive ever been. The episode where we had to model lingerie in front of Rosie Huntington-Whiteley was the most difficult. In the paper, we suggest avenues for future research that could help to improve understanding of the neural generators of FFRs and of brainstem processing. Overall, the results provide co